login

Please login using your forum user name to add or edit your reviews. This is different to your Yahoo! login. Don't have a forum user name? Then sign up now. It only takes a minute

Forum User name: Password:
Log me on automatically:



I forgot my password.

login
Last 5 Reviews

Average rating:4.07 out of 5 stars 4.07 / 5.0 Based on 30 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
4.5 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed the food on a recent visit, particularly the raw ice cream with chocolate sauce. Shared the chard-leaf spring rolls with thai dipping sauce, pesto pizza, & warm tamales -- all very yummy. Very tight seating and close proximity to others diminished my enjoyment of the overall experience. tammy
Reviews: 118
  2010-03-16
5 out of 5 stars Fab vegan restaurant. I've shared Cafe Gratitude with 4 meat-eating friends on 3 different occasions, and they all loved it. JAN.2009 UPDATE: Still as delicious and fun and quirky as ever. The only problem is that it's pricey so I don't eat there very much. But I don't eat out very much, period, for the same reason. calicokitten
Reviews: 34
  2010-01-07
5 out of 5 stars This place has a party vibe unlike any other veg restaurant i've ever been to -- like going to the hottest restaurant in town in the midst of happy hour. It is warm, cozy and inviting. The tables invite the opportunity to meet new people -- or not as is your preference. The food -- fabulous! My favorites are the pizzas (marinara and pesto) and the mocha cheesecake could win awards. SusieG
Reviews: 4
  2008-10-22
5 out of 5 stars You will appreciate this restaurant a lot more if you are a raw food enthusiast. I love the vibe, but certainly it's not for everyone. The people here are all about loving the world, enjoying the journey, and making yourself vulnerable and open to all that life has to offer. Awesome desserts! My daughter's favorite is the I Am Joy chocolate coconut confection. I love the raw ice cream. jessica
Reviews: 15
  2008-10-10
4.5 out of 5 stars I love the food! I think they make the best homemade ginger ale in town. The names of the food "I am grateful" are a little hokey for some people, but I've never had problems with the service. Oh, and the deserts are incredible! fedora
Reviews: 9
  2008-08-21
4.5 out of 5 stars The atmosphere is funky but the food is great. It's not cheap, but I don't find that surprising. There seems to be a lot of labor going into the food prep. The service is not formal, but I didn't encounter any rudeness on two visits to this location. greg
Reviews: 133
  2008-08-20
1 out of 5 stars I don't understand why this place is so liked. It is extremely overpriced and I am never satisfied with what I receive. Crazy: I ordered guacamole once and it came out with far too few flax chips so I asked for more - four more were brought out! the bill came and those four extra chips cost $6!!!! The shakes are good but $7 is outrageous. One would think that cooking food costs more than not. atmosphere
Reviews: 6
  2008-01-29
1.5 out of 5 stars Very expensive and small portions. Average tab in our party was $30 each for lunch and we all went away with some hunger, as prices were very high. The lunch counter ambience, food and service do not justify the high prices. SeniorVegetarian
Reviews: 1
  2008-01-21
5 out of 5 stars I was visiting the Bay Area from Memphis last week and found my way to the Berkeley location. There was so much that looked good but I ultimately settled on the sampler plate; a good suggestion from the friendly staff. I can hardly wait to 'conjure' up some reason to travel out there again for another delightful meal. I am enthusiastic about Cafe Gratitude. denniso
Reviews: 3
  2007-09-17
3 out of 5 stars Rude service, except for the guy at the juice bar. Great food though, but I wont go back to this location. I heard that the one on 9th is much better and that the selection is larger, so I am looking forward to trying that one out. pinkysf
Reviews: 7
  2007-08-06
4 out of 5 stars The date shake is delish, and the daily specials are always tasty. The service may be a little spotty, but I always feel good knowing I ate a compassionate meal. Yeah, I AM compassionate! Becca
Reviews: 39
  2007-07-06
4.5 out of 5 stars I was very impressed with CG in Berkeley. The service was unique yet wonderful. I liked the communal style of sititng with others or having others at your table. I appreciated the diversity of the menu and the daily specials. A very positive place. A little on the pricey side but food is so amazing, it's worth every penny! Love the "I AM VIVACIOUS" as it's stuffed avocados - yum! Great energy! Meghann
Reviews: 9
  2006-09-08
5 out of 5 stars I didn't know what to expect from CG, but after one visit I was hooked! I have returned several times. I agree that the service is a little off, but the food more than makes up for it! veganesquire
Reviews: 9
  2006-07-04
4.5 out of 5 stars This place is very good but pricey, which is the reason I like to refer to it sometimes as Cafe "Gratuity". The $7.50 "I Am Cool" shake would even impress John Travolta . The enchilada is fantastic! sfguitarist
Reviews: 10
  2006-04-11
4 out of 5 stars Service is spotty but food is fabulous! Game is emotional to play but can be fun. Went for my birthday the first year that they opened. I adored the salad with balsalmic-fig dressing. abster
Reviews: 7
  2006-02-09
4 out of 5 stars I would eat here every day if I could! Bright, sunny place, incredible food. I love everything on the menu. Only drawback: The wait staff, while friendly, doesn't check in NEARLY often enough. jkzawilski
Reviews: 4
  2005-11-07
4.5 out of 5 stars The food was great; the menu is quite interesting. It was quite crowded, being a Saturday night. We shared a table with 2 other couples. Be sure to tell them if you're celebrating a birthday! ajay
Reviews: 5
  2005-10-23
5 out of 5 stars Fantastic food. Left feeling high, elated, spiritually uplifted. Positive, enlightened atmosphere, unbelievably good food. The pizza was fabulous & the pecan pie & ice cream (a la mode) was unreal !! Deirdre444
Reviews: 1
  2005-09-03
3.5 out of 5 stars Expensive but can feel full on a small order. Good spreads & patÚs with flax crackers and live breads. Omnivore in group enjoyed special enchiladas. Do have quinoa & red rice plates. Rest raw menu. LHLisavegan
Reviews: 63
  2005-08-09
3 out of 5 stars Overall, average food. Our waitress was very friendly, but she never checked on us. The atmosphere was nice at first, but it did get crowded and a bit noisy. adrienna75
Reviews: 1
  2005-06-18
5 out of 5 stars My kids and I loved this place. Food is prepared beautifully and the tastes were outstanding. The service was good. We will definitely go back. tracyinfo
Reviews: 12
  2005-03-20
5 out of 5 stars Even my kids liked it! And they're picky, even though I've got one vegetarian and one vegan.They had "pizza" and I had falafel. The smoothies are to die for. prezeliz
Reviews: 8
  2005-02-14
4 out of 5 stars Very tasty and interesting food--I will be back! alicia22
Reviews: 9
  2005-02-07
2 out of 5 stars The live food is tasty, the service deplorable. Throughout our lunch we were generally ignored by our server. I'd avoid this place; there are better venues for live food in SF. trixie
Reviews: 1
  2005-01-17
4 out of 5 stars Great atmosphere. Great people. Great food. Worth visiting even if you're not Raw Foodist or Vegan. edinbluehawaii
Reviews: 5
  2004-12-26
5 out of 5 stars this place is an oasis in the city. full of smiles and calm, and - of course - excellent food. the bruscetta is particularly incredible, as is the brazil nut ice cream. and there are warm dishes too! w
Reviews: 3
  2004-12-23
4 out of 5 stars I enjoyed my I Am Grace smoothie (almond, dates, coconut, vanilla bean) and I Am Generous (guacamole and flax crackers) and I Am Passionate (buckwheat crust, nut cheese, sun-dried tomato, olives) Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2004-08-05
4 out of 5 stars Creative new-agey atmosphere, interesting menu names, very fresh living food. Definitely worth checking out even if you aren't normally into raw vegan cuisine. funcrunch
Reviews: 37
  2004-06-02
3 out of 5 stars Awesome raw German chocolate cake. Main dishes are a tad small for the price and you may end up leaving wishing you went to Herbivores around the corner instead. chris
Reviews: 82
  2004-05-22
5 out of 5 stars This is a must-see restaurant. I love it the food and the environment. The smoothy called I Am Grace is the BEST out there! All raw! caity
Reviews: 2
  2004-05-12

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.