login

Please login using your forum user name to add or edit your reviews. This is different to your Yahoo! login. Don't have a forum user name? Then sign up now. It only takes a minute

Forum User name: Password:
Log me on automatically:



I forgot my password.

login
Last 5 Reviews

Average rating:4.3 out of 5 stars 4.3 / 5.0 Based on 10 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
4 out of 5 stars Really tasty and not highly processed. I really like the dosas and love that the thali can be made vegan -- plus its all pretty cheap! However, "what is vegan" seems to depend on who you ask and we have complained that something was contaminated and the server "picked out" unwanted items from our food rather giving us something new. Not cool! Haven't seen that server in a while, though. cinnazimt
Reviews: 20
  2010-03-21
5 out of 5 stars Lots of good vegan choices - almost all dosas and uthappams are vegan, as are some of the non-south Indian entrees. Staff are pretty clear on what is vegan, so you don't need to play the Ghee Guessing Game (tm) like at many Indian places. Service is low-key, and the decor is pleasant - both much better than the Sunnyvale location. Good at seating big parties, esp. with some advance notice. greg
Reviews: 133
  2009-08-08
3.5 out of 5 stars The prefix meal 2 years ago, you were not able to make it all vegan. Their famous spicy Rasam soup was too spicy for me. I usually can handle above average spicy foods. Vegan Tony said this is his favorite place to eat. (he's Indian) This is a 2007 review since I never went back. I enjoyed the food at SF Udupi a lot better. Entree selection also makes a big difference.. sunny
Reviews: 81
  2009-07-19
3.5 out of 5 stars Food: Dosas are tasty and will fill you up. All vegetarian, many vegan options. 4 Decor: Nothing special. A little bit rundown, but not bad. 2 Service: Prompt and polite. Food was ready fast. Knowledge of what is and isn't vegan. 4 Cost: Very reasonable. Nothing over $9. 4 Bryan
Reviews: 4
  2007-06-24
4 out of 5 stars Food was good, good flavours. Service was satisfactory, but not great. spiffydog
Reviews: 5
  2007-04-15
5 out of 5 stars Best indian food yet! Fresh - made to order - great food. Samosas were top knotch! Everything was very well made and worth the price. My new favorite indian spot - love them!! Meghann
Reviews: 9
  2007-01-04
5 out of 5 stars One of my favorite places! The Thali, bisi belle bath, breads (not naan!) are the best. very reasonable and delicious. Atmosphere is hole in the wall-ish gkellie
Reviews: 5
  2005-11-20
4 out of 5 stars very good food reasonably priced. cash only, so be prepared! alicia22
Reviews: 9
  2005-03-04
4 out of 5 stars Great place for fans of Southern Indian cuisine--lots of dosas. Bread is a weak area, and curried vegetable selections are limited. Idli and sambhar are very good, and fine spicy potato dosas abound. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2004-06-25
5 out of 5 stars Fiery-food lovers unite! Udupi does South Indian food right, with lots of heat and flavor. Dishes can be toned down on request. Try the coriander pineapple dosa or potato onion naan for a real treat! grrlburn
Reviews: 34
  2004-05-24

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.