login

Please login using your forum user name to add or edit your reviews. This is different to your Yahoo! login. Don't have a forum user name? Then sign up now. It only takes a minute

Forum User name: Password:
Log me on automatically:



I forgot my password.

login
Last 5 Reviews

Average rating:2.77 out of 5 stars 2.77 / 5.0 Based on 15 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
4.5 out of 5 stars I feel like I missed something - I only met a nice lady but no psycho guy... I had the lunch buffet for $7.95 today and it was healthy and tasty. 3 of 4 entrees were vegan (kidney bean, chickpea and lentil) but not a creamy dish. Veggies, samosas and both rice were vegan too, but not chai tea or mango ice cream. Two sauces not vegan but mango sauce OK, as well as salad. Fresh fruit dessert option. greg
Reviews: 133
  2009-05-06
3.5 out of 5 stars New Ganges is a cozy restaurant across from the southwestern side of Golden Gate Park, near Kezar Stadium. Serving delicious curries and various other traditional Indian dishes. The friendly service will make you feel comfortable as the tasty food will make you feel satiated. Dan
Reviews: 12
  2008-07-16
0.5 out of 5 stars The owner is very rude. It is too bad that it is the only veg indian food place in SF because I will never go back there. I used to just get take out so I would not have to deal with him, but last time I went he tried to charge my credit card for things that he did not give me and wouldn't let me have any nan. Quite strange. pinkysf
Reviews: 7
  2007-08-06
4.5 out of 5 stars Food is yummy, especially carrot pudding.Good location.Owner has gotten much better (sure, he still pushes things, but he doesn't stand right over your shoulder anymore). Recently, I went on a Sunday evening, and the restaurant was empty. Hopefully more people will try it. Soon. Please... Becca
Reviews: 39
  2007-07-06
0 out of 5 stars I do NOT recommend this restaurant under any circumstance. It's not the food, the food is fine. It's the owner. Pushy, in your face, overbearing-call him what you will, I think he may have some kind of personality disorder.Anyway he's over the top, and he is very difficult to reason with. If you or anyone you know is considering opening a veg Indian place in SF- PLEASE DO IT! We'll love you for it seitan nic
Reviews: 15
  2007-05-08
3.5 out of 5 stars Food made from scratch. If you like spicy, ask for D (the most spicy) as food is mild otherwise. Owner is very proud of food and gave us free dal. He mostly left us to our conversation but did come back frequently to suggest foods and to talk a bit. Only Indian vegetarian restaurant in San Francisco - nonvegan items clearly marked. LHLisavegan
Reviews: 59
  2007-04-23
0 out of 5 stars The food was mediocre and kinda pricey. The host very overbearing and very discriminatory with the service - almost depended on who you were or who you were with. I would NEVER go back to that place! navenduc
Reviews: 1
  2005-12-26
4 out of 5 stars Great food; only miss was saag paneer. It's an "experience" restaurant - the owner is very in-your-face friendly, some say overbearing. Don't go for romance or quiet; go to interact or be entertained. piou
Reviews: 3
  2005-07-25
4 out of 5 stars Excellent and authentic Indian food. Owner was welcoming and his pride in the food (and his restaurant) was refreshing; he treated us like we were guests in his home. He even showed us the kitchen! terrapin
Reviews: 1
  2005-04-30
3 out of 5 stars Food is just okay, nothing special. Service can be a bit over-powering. Atmosphere doesn't feel right, specially on a quiet night. chris
Reviews: 80
  2004-11-22
2 out of 5 stars Service was good (abit too much), ambience a bit awkward tho. Ordered all vegan food. Samosas were very spicy but not really seasoned. Requested entrees as mild, result = bland. Food wasn't great, portions small. Much better places to eat veg, esp. in SF! tammy
Reviews: 114
  2004-11-22
1 out of 5 stars Bland, spice-mixing "off". All the dishes ordered were dull. Palak paneer not good at all. Waiter absurdly pushy! Pakistani cook attempting Indian Hindu food & missing it. No decor - strangely drab. stella
Reviews: 8
  2004-09-10
4 out of 5 stars Food is very good and owner-waiter is most accommodating, but we asked for dishes withut oil as we're McDougallers. He agreed to make oil-free dishes, but the two dishes we got were swimming in oil. DPressman
Reviews: 4
  2004-08-02
4 out of 5 stars The warm carrot pudding and the samosas are the best I've ever had. The service and other dishes and hit and miss. tklarin
Reviews: 14
  2004-06-20
3 out of 5 stars Food was delicious. Service was AWFUL. The owner wouldn't leave us alone. He made us try things and rate them when we just wanted to eat in peace. Won't be going back because of it but it was tasty PikkuMyy
Reviews: 30
  2004-06-17

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.