login

Please login using your forum user name to add or edit your reviews. This is different to your Yahoo! login. Don't have a forum user name? Then sign up now. It only takes a minute

Forum User name: Password:
Log me on automatically:



I forgot my password.

login
Last 5 Reviews

Average rating:4.25 out of 5 stars 4.25 / 5.0 Based on 20 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
5 out of 5 stars MANZANITA CLOSED. As of 1-2011, restaurant is called Shangri-La, & run by former Tibetan employees of the old Organic Cafe & Manzanita, of the same location. Set meals are organic, vegan, well balanced, and mostly macrobiotic. Chefs, Tenzin, Kalsong, and Lobsang, (sp?) use oil, which makes food tasty, though not necessarily macrobiotic. Originally reviewed 5-2005, 8-2006, 12-2009. Updated 1-2011 Jon Spear
Reviews: 8
  2011-04-08
5 out of 5 stars I had a great lunch there today. The food was tasty (but not spicy) and healthy and vegan and organic. What's there to not like about that? There are 3 dining options: full meal, moderate portions, and simple meal. The first two have the same foods but in different amounts. The last one is simpler! There are 6 or so vegan desserts too. The menu is posted before each meal on the website. greg
Reviews: 133
  2008-04-24
4.5 out of 5 stars As a visitor to the area - prone to getting lost and limited to mass transit, Manzanita was easy to find. Thanks to BA Vegetarians for the good and accurate directions. I found the food quite pleasing and the environment very friendly -- most agreeable. I'll definitely go back again whenever I can. denniso
Reviews: 3
  2007-09-17
4 out of 5 stars This was my first macrobiotic experience and I really enjoyed it. The vegetables were very tasty and it was a refreshing healthy meal. It was nice to eat a vegan/organic meal that was based on whole foods, not processed/mock meats. I tried some veggies that I wouldn't ordinarily eat and was quite surprised to enjoy them. Even the cookies (made without refined flours or sugars) were great. Dana
Reviews: 30
  2007-07-23
5 out of 5 stars Vegan, organic AND macrobiotic - a great combination not often found at restaurants. Casual but friendly. Food was delicious but may seem a bit "simple" or unusual for people not used to it. Try it! I have eaten here many times and have never had a bad meal. Always good and satisfying and healthy. I LOVE this place. kblue
Reviews: 16
  2007-05-29
1 out of 5 stars A return visit for dinner reconfirmed my earlier impressions. Neither creative nor tasty, a truly uninspired meal. I am giving it a 1.0 rating rather than 0 only because the server was very friendly and efficient. I agree with Oaktownveg--Manzanita's food is what the uninformed think vegans are "forced" to eat. Bland, dull, lacking imagination. Even after remodeling, the place is not inviting Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2007-03-12
1 out of 5 stars I hate to give a vegan restauraunt a bad review, but this place was really not good. I tried so hard to like this place but the food is SO bland. I went with a friend and we basically choked down dinner. This is the food people imagine vegans eating. i would not recommend taking any non-veg person there. it could be a real turn off for them. oaktownveg
Reviews: 8
  2007-03-12
3.5 out of 5 stars Good food. Portions are good. Nice atmosphere. edinbluehawaii
Reviews: 5
  2006-09-13
5 out of 5 stars I love this place. I wish I could eat there everyday. They have a set meal every day, which consists of a soup, salad, starch dish and two sides. You order based on the amount you'd like to be served, so $11 would get you the full meal, $9 med and $7 small meal. Their bakery is amazing. They use unrefined sugar, so everything is truly vegan. Bring your own tupperware and order to go. Veganinjakitty
Reviews: 6
  2006-07-31
4.5 out of 5 stars The food was great, the dessert's flavor was good but the texture was dry. The portions of the moderate meal were large. The meal's flavors were simple but not bland. Willl be back for the buffet! TiannaSheehan
Reviews: 3
  2006-04-24
5 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed the Sat. buffet. Greens were excellent, as well as the other vegetable dish. The rice patties with gravy were very tasty, salad mix was good with great dressing. Friendly people, too. kmeldrum
Reviews: 23
  2005-11-23
5 out of 5 stars Organic. Vegan. Buffet. Three magical words! And it was yummy too. I've tried many veg restaurants and I'd rate this one as a "must try". Note - no faux meats. At buffet, really enjoyed the rice "burgers" (patties) served with a pumpkin/basil gravy. Everything tasted great, except the cabbage soup (too bland)... and I could go back for more of my favorites! Yum yum yum! Will return. As others said, baked goods need work. tammy
Reviews: 112
  2005-11-19
4 out of 5 stars Great place for a macrobiotic meal. Warm, friendly service. Food simple and yummy. New space is charming. Warning: the food may be a bit spartan for any non-veg friends you may try to bring with you! jkzawilski
Reviews: 4
  2005-11-07
4.5 out of 5 stars Very healthy!!!, simple, plentiful, inexpensive, tasty food. Can't go wrong here. Menu changes every meal. Very casual atmosphere. Hate cooking kale but love eating it?: this is the place for it! LHLisavegan
Reviews: 59
  2005-08-31
5 out of 5 stars We are so lucky to have a Kushi Institute trained chef from Brookline cooking at the Manzanita. The best of 'ole Organic Cafe + a new clean space.The traditional Almond cookies were delicious too! GO! mike
Reviews: 10
  2005-04-04
5 out of 5 stars As an avid diner and occasional volunteer before its remodeling, I'm happy that the food is as delicious and atmosphere as community friendly as it ever was! Don't pass this place up! 10isgrlee
Reviews: 1
  2005-03-24
4 out of 5 stars Very good food. Decor is a bit sterile. Service is very friendly. Warren
Reviews: 37
  2005-03-06
4 out of 5 stars Fantastic set dinner! A ton of food, all fresh and healthy! The baked goods could use some work--a little too dry and dense. grrlburn
Reviews: 34
  2005-03-04
5 out of 5 stars Don't be scared by the exterior, the food is super fresh, organic and excellent value. Unfortunately, not many people know about it, and it's a great find especially in the East Bay. Froggyrocks
Reviews: 7
  2005-02-09
5 out of 5 stars This is the best restaurant anywhere, no place like it around, offering unique grains veggies like kale! The food is healthy and fabously delicious. Friendly atmosphere collectively run by the staff. Charlie
Reviews: 1
  2005-01-19

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.