login

Please login using your forum user name to add or edit your reviews. This is different to your Yahoo! login. Don't have a forum user name? Then sign up now. It only takes a minute

Forum User name: Password:
Log me on automatically:



I forgot my password.

login
Last 5 Reviews

Average rating:3.88 out of 5 stars 3.88 / 5.0 Based on 21 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
4.5 out of 5 stars Great vegan brunches, I usually order the tofu scrambles, hash browns or pancakes. And the vegan whip cream is to die for. One of the best places for breakfast. For reg meals, I just eat their grilled corn, with side of mash potatoes with gravy. sunny
Reviews: 81
  2009-08-28
0 out of 5 stars Tried to visit this restaurant after traveling half way across SF. Arrived at 9.50pm and asked if they had any food we could have as a take-out (explaining that we had only just arrived in town). "No, we haven't had any customers for an hour, so we've closed already. I could offer you some dessert if you want." No attempt to help a visitor or even to offer a sandwich. Not going there again! jdg
Reviews: 2
  2009-08-06
2.5 out of 5 stars I used to live in this neighborhood and the food was always pretty bland and mediocre. While the atmosphere is cool and hip, I just have never had what I'd call a "good" meal there. Maybe I just ordered the wrong things? fedora
Reviews: 9
  2008-08-21
4.5 out of 5 stars Lots of choices, most of which are basic but satisfying. 100% vegan restaurants are liberating ... Excellent choice for dining with your omnivore friends who like standard menu items, as the large menu has something for everyone. The neighborhood is a little sketchy but slowly improving. Other two Herbivore locations are convenient to BART and have better ambience, especially the Berkeley one. greg
Reviews: 133
  2008-08-20
2.5 out of 5 stars We used to love the brunch but the quality is just too inconsistent. Dinner is horrible with slow and inattentive staff, substitutions without informing you, random pieces of food in your dish indicating a messy kitchen, wilty salad placed on top of the pasta, etc. And so many of the dishes are really bland. Believe me, we gave them MANY tries. Can't do it anymore. PikkuMyy
Reviews: 30
  2007-07-20
5 out of 5 stars My husband, brother and I had brunch here yesterday. I was a little hesitant since the reviews in many places are mixed, but we loved it! We had the tempeh bacon sandwich, the southwestern tofu scramble and the southwestern breakfast burrito. We also shared the blueberry coen cakes. Everything was outstanding and we had great service. I can't wait for this to open up in Berkeley! oaktownveg
Reviews: 8
  2007-05-14
5 out of 5 stars Wonderful restaurant. 100% vegan. Very nice staff and nice atmosphere. Brunch is really good. This location is much better than their Mission one (friendlier staff and better food). xbillyx
Reviews: 6
  2007-05-09
5 out of 5 stars Vegan french toast and tempeh BLTs...what more could you ask for? The food at Herbivore is incredible. Sometimes the service is a bit slow. The only dishes I'm not a fan of are the tofu scrambles. Everything else has been fantastic! Dana
Reviews: 30
  2006-11-16
4.5 out of 5 stars One of the best! My favorites include the Shwarma, Red Curry, and Crunchy Tacos. They could work on the soups as they always seem the same and are too salty. Maybe even offer two. Brunch is great. ryebread
Reviews: 4
  2005-11-03
4 out of 5 stars herbivore can be a little hit or miss, but there are lots of great options and a nice atmosphere. go and be ready for a leisurely pace, and enjoy the fresh, healthy fare. bingbing
Reviews: 3
  2005-09-30
4 out of 5 stars Good breakfasts: fruit pancakes & scrambled tofu-ask & for $1. they will add spinach/tomatoes/mushrooms. Lentil loaf good comfort food but too salty. Noisy. Uneven. Fave of my out of town friends LHLisavegan
Reviews: 59
  2005-09-12
4.5 out of 5 stars Great place to grab a vegan dinner before checking out a show at The Independent. I love the SHWARMA! calicokitten
Reviews: 34
  2005-09-12
3.5 out of 5 stars Despite spotty food and service quality, I do like Herbivore for the varied all-vegan menu. My favorites appetizers are the zaatar and spring rolls, with favorite entrees including beans & brown rice, sometimes the tofu sandwich. Big note: restaurant is often very noisy (poor acoustics) which makes it extremely difficult to have a conversation or even enjoy your meal. tammy
Reviews: 114
  2005-08-02
5 out of 5 stars Tastes great! Big variety kfarad
Reviews: 2
  2005-05-05
2 out of 5 stars Great for garlic lovers, which would not be me. The waitress yesterday was very rude to us, but another time I went the waitress was very attentive to our non-garlic needs. HIT OR MISS Baincl
Reviews: 16
  2004-10-07
3 out of 5 stars Good food in general. Service was slow, although the wait staff was very friendly. Would recommend the simpler dishes that require less overall preparation, like portabello sandwich and pesto toast. tcrostado
Reviews: 2
  2004-06-23
5 out of 5 stars Best veggie brunch.Back patio is nice.Had peanut pad thai (very spicy) & german chocolate cake (yum yum) last time.Tried the cosmopolitan, made with pom juice and sake, which was great.Service=spotty. Becca
Reviews: 39
  2004-06-21
5 out of 5 stars My favorite restaurant in the Bay Area. I love the ravioli with pesto. The chocolate cake is so rich I have to limit myself to a 1/2 slice even when I'm not on a diet. Tempeh bacon for brunch - yum! funcrunch
Reviews: 37
  2004-06-02
4 out of 5 stars Hit or miss dishes & service, though still a fav of mine for a few stellar entrees. Try seitan sandwich as a wrap, schwarma or penne w/cream sauce. Avoid moussaka & Indonesian salad like the plague! grrlburn
Reviews: 34
  2004-05-24
4 out of 5 stars Herbivore is hit or miss. If you order the right items you can have a great meal. My faves are the spring rolls, schawarma, burrito & most sandwiches. Warren
Reviews: 37
  2004-05-21
4 out of 5 stars Every bit as good as Herbs on Valencia, maybe slightly better service. chris
Reviews: 80
  2004-05-05

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.