Reviews for Shangri-La

Average rating:4.11 out of 5 stars 4.11 / 5.0 Based on 19 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
4 out of 5 stars I'm glad the owner, William became a veg in 2007. The Shanghinese Won ton with ginger is very good. Don't order the wrong type of won ton. The pie pa tofu has been getting a bit too salty. Overall, I keep telling folks to check out their 7 days a week lunch box specials. It's a great bargain. Thanks Tammy and Chris for the food recommendations and dining out at Shangrila. sunny
Reviews: 81
  2008-12-01
5 out of 5 stars My favorite restaurant in west SF, or perhaps all of SF. Lots of good food to choose from, friendly service, and good lunch specials. My omnivore parents are always willing to eat here when we are anywhere near. greg
Reviews: 133
  2008-09-09
4 out of 5 stars Shangri-La is a cozy Chinese Buddhist restaurant on Irving Street that serves consistently good food at good prices. This small, informal restaurant has excellent hot-and-sour soup as well as delicious dumplings and tasty twice-fried tofu. Also, for those who may be interested, the restaurant is certified kosher. Dan
Reviews: 12
  2008-07-16
2.5 out of 5 stars Consistently friendly, quick service and good food. Very reasonable prices, too. Favorites - the fragrant dry bean curd (appetizer), individual bowl of won ton soup (laced with lots of fresh ginger), crispy tofu, and spicy eggplant. Good menu selection - lots of veggie options, some faux meats too, plus unusual medicinal selections (which I haven't tried but others like). Downside - we were told pie pa tofu balls are vegan (even when served with a piece of egg shell sticking out of one ball), then they aren't (have eggs), and now they are again. Have not been back since. Trust issue. tammy
Reviews: 118
  2007-11-10
3 out of 5 stars Good food and service. Probably one of the best veggie Chinese restaurants in the Bay Area, but recent problems with mix-ups on what's vegan and not has drop it down on my list of places to frequent. chris
Reviews: 82
  2007-10-25
4.5 out of 5 stars I enjoy most of the dishes here. The food comes fast and it's fun going to a Kosher Vegetarian restaurant. The only one I've ever head of. My favorite are the chicken balls. Yummy!! veg4life
Reviews: 22
  2007-09-26
5 out of 5 stars The lamb is amazing. I think that I like everthing here. If you go during lunch time, you should try the lunch special. So much food for just under 6 dollars. Be nice to the waitress and she will be nice to you. She used to not like me for some reason, but now she does and that is so much better pinkysf
Reviews: 7
  2007-08-06
5 out of 5 stars My favorite place in the city to go for lunch. Pickled vegetables, soup of the day and an entree served with a spring roll and brown rice for under 10$(including tip!). Also of note is the B3 vege lamb with dioscoria. Delicious! seitan nic
Reviews: 15
  2007-02-19
5 out of 5 stars Unassuming decor, but amazing food. Favorite dishes include the sweet and sour spareribs, spicy shrimp, and duck on iron plate. Worth the trip to the Outer Sunset. tklarin
Reviews: 14
  2006-11-28
3.5 out of 5 stars Great Food. Fast Service. Large Portions. A single order of soup, salad and entree can easily feed two people! edinbluehawaii
Reviews: 5
  2006-09-13
4.5 out of 5 stars Great food and portions at very low prices. Huge potstickers. Fast service. Very tasty food and good, healthy, brown rice. Pie pa tofu is unusual, like big croquettes, crispy out/soft in--yummy. MyshkinIsPerfect
Reviews: 12
  2006-03-07
5 out of 5 stars Excellent vegan asian food with very good variety. rons22
Reviews: 3
  2006-02-09
3 out of 5 stars Not really a fan but glad that it's Kosher! abster
Reviews: 7
  2006-02-09
4 out of 5 stars Good choice for tasty vegan chinese fare. Substantial menu, plenty of soup, appetizer and entree options. Service is fast and questions are answered quickly as to what a dish contains. Nice resource. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2006-01-31
4 out of 5 stars Only complaint high oil but they will do low/no. Best won ton soup & pie pa tofu balls with brocolli. Especially good brown rice. Certified kosher, one of only 3 SF places; only veg one. Friendly! LHLisavegan
Reviews: 63
  2005-09-07
4 out of 5 stars Our McDougall Group met here May 13 and they accommodated our advance request for vegan and no added oil completely. The service and the food were very good and the prices were quire reasonable. DPressman
Reviews: 4
  2005-05-22
5 out of 5 stars The food here is fabulous. I would highly recommend the kung pao beef which isn't listed on the menu. Service is always great and the food comes out really fast. laurie
Reviews: 3
  2004-08-31
5 out of 5 stars My first trip was less than stellar, but with a little ordering help, my second visit was superb. Everything was fresh & perfectly seasoned. Try the dry tofu, wonton soup, "ribs" or spicy eggplant! grrlburn
Reviews: 34
  2004-05-24
2 out of 5 stars Mustard Greens were extremely good. However, almost every dish/cup/silverware we had were really dirty, which put us off for good. PikkuMyy
Reviews: 30
  2004-05-22

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.