Reviews for BayLeaf Cafe

Average rating:4.11 out of 5 stars 4.11 / 5.0 Based on 18 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
3.5 out of 5 stars The food is decent but the drinks and desserts are awesome. Try the Almond Soymilk,Black Sesame Soy,Masala Chai, Kahlua Coffee Sundae and the Banana Sesame Crépe. Go for the Sushi,Carrot Roll,soups,and specials. Nice homey feel (mini library included) and great place for advocacy meetings. The staff is nice – service can be slow. Be aware that tips may not go to Waiters. Talk to manager about it! Bendavidow
Reviews: 4
  2006-08-14
2.5 out of 5 stars Service needs attention: Restaurant opened 15 minutes late. Food: Tasty lentl soup and rolls (Mighty Carrot) but the burgers were skimpy. Nothing special and not all menu items are organic. veghead2006
Reviews: 2
  2006-03-31
4.5 out of 5 stars Tasty rolls (mighty carrot, artichoke tofu), delicious daily Indian specials (look for the Mung Bean Curry Stew - it's great!), yummy quesadillas and excellent curry carrot soup, combined with the owners care and compassion, make this a wonderful place to dine. BayLeaf is involved and supportive of the local veg/AR community. Great desserts too. tammy
Reviews: 113
  2006-02-03
3 out of 5 stars Nice atmosphere and location. Food and selection is just OK. Staff should visit Herbivore and Dharmas for meal presentation, serving size, and variety. Sometimes I want fries with my sandwich. ryebread
Reviews: 4
  2005-11-03
2 out of 5 stars I've tried to like this place, having visited about 4 or 5 times. Wraps are nothing special - not very nutritious. Sometimes the specials are decent. Chai is awesome. Friendly, but terrible service. horwathbd
Reviews: 1
  2005-10-26
4.5 out of 5 stars Best lentil soup-picky eater and don't like all but can tell ALL good. Veg/etc. books/mags/lit for reading. If this place was in my neighborhood I'd be there a lot. Friendly. Sometimes out of things. LHLisavegan
Reviews: 59
  2005-08-19
4 out of 5 stars This food here is great and the service is excellent. The mighty carrot roll is a real winner. Casual atomsphere. Good prices. I always enjoy this place. Warren
Reviews: 37
  2005-08-18
5 out of 5 stars The wraps are wonderful-tasty and filling. They have specials you can taste if not sure what you want. Desserts include Maggie Mudd ice cream. Nice touch - AR/veg books to read while you wait. kmeldrum
Reviews: 23
  2005-07-28
5 out of 5 stars A lovely friendly unpretentious little restaurant. Their menu is excellent, the food delicious and the service superb. I would go to this restaurant again. They don't take debit cards. Try the crepes! guinnog
Reviews: 1
  2005-07-20
3 out of 5 stars Good food - but small menu, small portions, and rather austere. After two trips with the same experience I won't be back unless I want a quick (light) daytime snack. kalistys
Reviews: 4
  2005-06-06
5 out of 5 stars Yummy Quesadilla! Best hummus I ever had. I also had the mushroom sandwich with advocado and "cheese" - it was sublime!!! I'm definitely a new fan!! Schmookies
Reviews: 1
  2005-04-03
5 out of 5 stars I'm new to the Bay Area and BayLeaf has become my favorite veggie place so far. I've only tried a few things, but I love the artichoke tofu wrap and the creamy avocado. mel
Reviews: 18
  2005-01-29
4 out of 5 stars On the menu, quesadillas and mighty carrot roll are favorites... Check out Ravi's delicious Indian curries; really enjoyed today's coconut mung bean curry. Go on a 2nd Tuesday for Sean's BAV BayLeaf dinner -- it's really a fun community event. chris
Reviews: 79
  2005-01-01
5 out of 5 stars You can have something light, you can have comfort food, you can even have a sundae or a slice of pumpkin pie. Stay a while and peruse their collection of veggie/AR books. kitzcatzhatz
Reviews: 20
  2004-10-13
5 out of 5 stars Wonderful food, it's worth the $ and the time. Love the sushi, mighty carrot roll (we get not spicy) quesadila & mango smoothie! Owners are great to talk to. Baincl
Reviews: 16
  2004-08-22
3 out of 5 stars I really wanted to like Bay Leaf but was disappointed. Service was attrocious on 1 occasion and food less than inspiring. Dissapointing still is I filled out a comment card and was never contacted. ThinkGreen
Reviews: 3
  2004-07-21
5 out of 5 stars Best vegan quesadilla. Ever. The staff and owners are excellent. Also loved the cheesecake. wold
Reviews: 1
  2004-06-06
5 out of 5 stars The BayLeaf Cafe is great! I loved my meal! The carrot wrap was really good.. and I especially loved the cheesecake! Possibly the best vegan cheesecake ever! toyoko
Reviews: 1
  2004-06-05

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.