Reviews for Greens Restaurant

Average rating:3.78 out of 5 stars 3.78 / 5.0 Based on 16 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
5 out of 5 stars I've visited Greens a number of times, and it's the best vegetarian fine dining experience I've had anywhere. The service, atmosphere, and food have always been outstanding. Greens definitely caters to lacto-ovo vegetarians, but there are ample vegan options as well. I recommend Greens wholeheartedly. bonk
Reviews: 2
  2010-03-21
3.5 out of 5 stars This place should be called Holy Cheeses, not Greens, because they worship at dairy's feet. However, there are some appealing vegan options for main dishes and starters. Excellent service, small portions, overpriced, great view, not BART-friendly. The Red Curry dish was too mild and otherwise tasty. My vegan inquiries were not met with any hostility on the part of servers or other staff. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2009-11-03
1 out of 5 stars The atmosphere is very loud and cramped and the serving staff are unfriendly. I found a serious lack of vegan options and thought that overall the menu was uninspired. I guess you are paying for the location and partial view because considering the small portions and boring food you don't get much value. veganesquire
Reviews: 9
  2008-04-19
4.5 out of 5 stars The food has always been outstanding when I have dined at Greens. They have great special menus for holidays such as Valentine's day. I recommend it. starrose64
Reviews: 4
  2008-01-08
1.5 out of 5 stars Our chef roomie said it was pricey and unspectacular. We went anyway and sure enough, were underwhelmed. The waiter was condescending and confusing, the tables were too close, and the food is not all it's cracked up to be. Good food is good food and this wasn't it. The seasonings didn't hang together. The portions were a tad small. The flavors lacked. Okay, the pizza was edible, but it was small. kwil
Reviews: 1
  2007-08-22
5 out of 5 stars Amazing! They had wonderful vegan options. My husband and I had the four course dinner with wine pairings and everything was delicious! The service was fabulous. The only suggestion I would have is to request a seat by the window. Sitting so close to strangers kind of took away from our romantic dinner. Besides that everything was fantastic! Excellent dessert too! kalimaa27
Reviews: 1
  2007-01-08
5 out of 5 stars My favorite restuarant. Classy. Clean. Delicious. Where I take my mother when she's in town! Plus, there is usually parking. abster
Reviews: 7
  2006-02-09
4.5 out of 5 stars More vegan options would be preferable, but food was excellent, very fresh. Good b/c itís good food, not just b/c itís good veg*n food. Pricey, but nice to have a veg restaurant for special occasions. kblue
Reviews: 16
  2005-09-12
4 out of 5 stars Good food but not many vegan items; heavy emphasis on cheese. Took 25 minutes to be seated after our reservation time (on a weeknight!) funcrunch
Reviews: 37
  2005-08-11
3.5 out of 5 stars Not much vegan but staff/menu clear what is. Thai curry (added my own crushed red pepper), etc. good; only one vegan dessert but good as Millennium's. Superb view and friendly service. LHLisavegan
Reviews: 59
  2005-08-09
5 out of 5 stars We had a birthday dinner here May 21. The food & service were great and they made an extra effort to accommodate our advance request for a McDougall diet (no fat, vegan). Huge meal was $46 plus T & T. DPressman
Reviews: 4
  2005-05-22
5 out of 5 stars I went to Greens on my 1st anniv. We absolutely loved it! We are both Vegetarian so dairy is ok with us. In OC we don't have any options for veg fine dining so we really look forward to Greens pitmang1@yahoo.com
Reviews: 1
  2005-03-03
3 out of 5 stars Not vegan friendly at all--lots of dairy in most of their dishes. Great view though! alicia22
Reviews: 9
  2005-02-07
5 out of 5 stars I'm vegetarian, not vegan, and I love this place. Quite popular on weekends; make a reservation. Beautiful view when dining too. I like their food so much, I bought their cookbook! emmapeel415
Reviews: 2
  2004-06-26
2 out of 5 stars What a disappointment! With an organic garden of their own, you think they could do better by vegans. Most dishes rely on dairy & veganizing them is hit or miss. Good for mixed veg/omni crowds though. grrlburn
Reviews: 34
  2004-05-24
3 out of 5 stars Great for veggies, not for vegan. Vegan brunch was tofu stir fry?! while veggies had pancakes, waffles, potatoes, etc. Try Herbivore instead if vegan. PikkuMyy
Reviews: 30
  2004-05-21

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.