Reviews for Vegetarian Gourmet

Average rating:4.25 out of 5 stars 4.25 / 5.0 Based on 16 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
5 out of 5 stars I took an order of the Tofu Rolls, Curry Vegetable Chicken, Chen Pi and brown rice to a non-veg BBQ. The food was a big hit amongst the non-veg guests. They commented on how good the texture and flavor of the Chen Pi was, and they all went back for seconds, instead of eating the real meat. Remarkable! The owners of Veg Gourmet were very nice and helpful and I'll definitely go back. Veganinjakitty
Reviews: 6
  2006-07-25
5 out of 5 stars This restaurant has made it into my top three favorite vegetarian restaurants in the Bay Area. I have dined there with the BAV Friday night group & had the opportunity to sample a wide variety of dishes. I'm very impressed by their creative use of ingredients to produce a rich range of enticing flavors. Especially liked the Chen Pi Vegetarian Beef & Eggplant with Spicy Garlic. Friendly service. JMVEG
Reviews: 1
  2006-07-24
5 out of 5 stars The food at Vegetarian Gourmet is fantastic. Large selection of veggie dishes as well as faux meats and noodle staples. Great lunch specials for quick lunches. Fav Dish: Tofu Rolls...mmmm Dana
Reviews: 30
  2006-06-19
5 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed the food and attentive service. Very similar food style to Garden Fresh (chef used to work there). Highly Recommend: Curry Vegetables, Family Style Tofu, Chen Pi Vegetarian Beef, Vegetarian Ham, Asparagus Chicken. Food tastes fresh and light (not greasy). Rating based on 12+ visits. Nice menu choice for folks who like faux meats as well as those who don't. Recommend the Chinese pancakes too. Vegetable Chow Mein and Won Ton Soup okay (I've had better and worse!). tammy
Reviews: 112
  2006-05-14
1 out of 5 stars I thought the food here was very poor, so my first time will be the last time. marie
Reviews: 2
  2006-05-04
5 out of 5 stars taste food. uncannily similar to garden fresh in mountain view. with many of the dishes the same - both in look, quality and taste. excellent service. will be back soon i'm sure. chris
Reviews: 79
  2006-02-18
4.5 out of 5 stars My kids love this place. Decor could be changed for the better. The food is great. tracyinfo
Reviews: 12
  2006-01-29
4 out of 5 stars Great selection of vegetarian dishes. Wonderful, friendly staff. Decor is a bit bland; needs a fun theme and some music. Terrific prices. sue
Reviews: 5
  2005-12-21
4 out of 5 stars In my book, Veg Gourmet rates right up there with the best of the vegetarian chinese places in the bay area. I particularly enjoyed the Curry "Chicken", Szechuan Chow Mein, and Chen Pi (Orange) "Beef" Jeff
Reviews: 5
  2005-12-19
4 out of 5 stars Delicious food that doesn't taste at all oily. I don't like faux meat-there was still plenty for me to eat: tofu, curry, vegetable, chow mein, appetizer dishes all enjoyed. Friendly and quick service. LHLisavegan
Reviews: 59
  2005-12-17
4.5 out of 5 stars Came with a group of friends, ordered a variety of yummy dishes - especially liked the pot stickers, curried vegetables, vegetable chow mein, bok choy, shredded "chicken" - friendly, quick service AKALJ
Reviews: 3
  2005-12-17
4.5 out of 5 stars Family friendly. Took my nonveg Mom and Brother and they loved it! Succulent crispy potstickers. Lip smackin Chow Fun. Firery Garlic 'Chicken' . Yummy Corn w/ pinenuts. Brown Rice! Friendly Service! mike
Reviews: 10
  2005-11-26
4.5 out of 5 stars The family style tofu was very good and so was the asparagus chicken. They have a very large menu. I'm anxious to go back and try some of their other dishes too. Susan
Reviews: 1
  2005-11-23
4 out of 5 stars Yummy veg Chinese! Especially enjoyed the veg chicken & asparagus & the beef chen pi. Good textures, flavorful, not too greasy. Excellent service, very friendly and accomodating. Inexpensive. Go! Thea
Reviews: 2
  2005-10-24
4 out of 5 stars Tasty dishes and good service. if you like Garden Fresh you will like this place. Nice to have more vegan options in San Mateo county. paula
Reviews: 1
  2005-10-24
4 out of 5 stars Similar to Garden Fresh/Mtn. View. Vegetarian with vegan options. Ask them to use the VEGAN meat. They are very accomodating to requests. Fast service, good food. veggiegrrrl
Reviews: 15
  2005-10-23

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.