Reviews for Central Vegetarian Cuisine

Average rating:4.39 out of 5 stars 4.39 / 5.0 Based on 9 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
4.5 out of 5 stars Friendly, family run restaurant. Lots of seating. The Vietnamese Crepe is a must have. I despise eggplant, but I tried Central's and it was unbelievably delicious. Their pho is okay. Generous portions. Reasonable prices. bunnygirl
Reviews: 18
  2013-01-16
4 out of 5 stars A bit on the pricey side, but the Lotus Salad is totally worth the trip! JamieR
Reviews: 3
  2009-12-13
4.5 out of 5 stars Not busy for a Friday lunch, which is too bad because the food and the setting are good. Today they said all dishes are vegan (although I didn't of course go check faux meat boxes myself). Only non-vegan items are a couple beverages, and for them the dairy can be substituted with soy milk. Food may be less spicy here since they seem to follow Buddha instead of the Supreme Master. Nice people. greg
Reviews: 133
  2008-11-14
4 out of 5 stars Full house on a Sat night, the SPICY noodle soup was good. The garlic "beef" I didn't know was fried to the point I wasn't able to taste the flavor. The "chicken" curry is not as good as Golden Lotus. Of course spring rolls are always a hit in this Vietnamese veggie restaurant. Overall, it's good to find a clean place to eat good veggie foods. Not part of the Supreme Master group. sunny
Reviews: 81
  2008-07-22
4.5 out of 5 stars It's great that there is now a veg restaurant in Alameda. The menu is very much like Golden Lotus in Oakland. Everything is not vegan, so you need to be sure to specify if you want vegan.Food was very good, except for the Black China cake, which was very stale. So be sure to ask if the cake if fresh that day before you buy it. kmeldrum
Reviews: 23
  2008-05-09
5 out of 5 stars After several not great visits at Golden Lotus, we started coming here & love it. Menu very similar to G.L. & maybe a little cheaper. Service is very good, family run.. It's been pretty quiet every time we've been in so I encourage everyone to help them stay in business. kittykris
Reviews: 24
  2008-03-19
3.5 out of 5 stars I don't eat fake meat products so can't comment on those, but there are also vegetable or plain tofu based dishes. Food was pretty good, a little too heavy/salty for me to eat regularly (though I feel that way about most Asian restaurants). Most of menu is vegan. Vegan chow mein was not bad but not as good as I hoped. Eggplant clay pot and spring roll were very good. Friendly staff. Will go again. kblue
Reviews: 16
  2007-05-29
5 out of 5 stars Great food, friendly service, clean and neat, nicely decorated, unending variety on the menu - I'm on a mission to try one of everything. It might take me awhile. So far I haven't had one bad dish. I really like the Pad Thai and the Teriyaki (vegan) Chicken. My favorite dessert is the flan (yes - real milk). tomas6750
Reviews: 1
  2007-05-22
4.5 out of 5 stars With an extensive menu (92 items not including desserts/drinks) this new mostly vegan Vietnamese restaurant is extra clean, well-decorated, offers friendly knowledgeable staff and excellent service, tasty food and vegan desserts. One of the co-owners expressed strong desire to move towards all vegan fake meat items and to be absolutely sure about ingredients. Spotless large bathroom a plus. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2007-05-17

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.