Reviews for Souley Vegan

Average rating:4.5 out of 5 stars 4.5 / 5.0 Based on 10 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
4.5 out of 5 stars Yum! Fantastic collard greens, mac & cheese, lentils, & strawberry ginger drink. Now want to try the sweet potato pie, yams, black eyed peas, cornbread, mashed potatoes & gravy, and probably other things too, but it will be hard not to order the collard greens, mac & cheese, and lentils again. Very friendly workers too. LHLisavegan
Reviews: 59
  2011-05-20
5 out of 5 stars Love, Love, Love this place. I'm so glad they finally got settled in new location. My favs are the combination fried/bbq "chicken" tofu sandwich, the cornbread and the live music. It gets a little toasty in there if it's hot out. Make sure to tip the musicians if you like the music. Lately, it's been father/son duo doing all kinds of genres. Not to be missed! veg4life
Reviews: 22
  2010-09-18
4.5 out of 5 stars OMG, what an awesome place! I am knocking off half a star for a unisex bathroom only. BBQ tofu: yum. Collard greens: I've had better. Cornbread: good, but not great. Mac n Cheese: yum yum. Yams: yam-licious. I think the best thing was the southern fried tofu. Soooo good. Was intrigued by the tofu burgers and the cayenne lemonade. Will definitely go back! JamieR
Reviews: 3
  2010-03-18
5 out of 5 stars A friend and I split the Everything Platter. Everything was very tasty. My favorites were the Southern Fried Tofu and the Potato Salad, but it was really hard to choose. The Cornbread was excellent, also. Then I had Sweet Potato Pie for dessert, and that was the ultimate - so sweet and creamy, the best I've ever had. I'd go back there any time I was in the area. The server was very friendly. kmeldrum
Reviews: 23
  2009-11-16
4.5 out of 5 stars Vegan soul food - yummy! Had the potato salad, macaroni and cheese, bbq tofu, black eyed peas and collard greens. Potato salad and macaroni and cheese are awesome. BBQ tofu was disappointing. Overall, enjoyed it, would return again if in the area. tammy
Reviews: 114
  2009-11-15
4.5 out of 5 stars So glad they are back! Take someone with you and get the $19 everything platter; you will not be dissapointed! The crispy tofu is corn meal based breading and I suggest eating it with some hot sauce. The greens, lentils, and beans are all savory and flavorful. The mac n cheese is absolutely wholesome! The staff are very friendly. Sweet potato pie looked good but I didnt have room to try it. Deebingo
Reviews: 5
  2009-10-26
4.5 out of 5 stars I had the everything combo plate today for $19. If you are with someone else or really hungry or appreciate leftovers this is the way to go, because you can try almost all the great tastes. Especially if your date is paying. ;-) The new location has lots of space to spread out, and can serve small or large groups. Highly recommmended if you want to try something different. Save room for dessert. greg
Reviews: 133
  2009-08-26
4.5 out of 5 stars Same great food, MUCH better setting. There is now also a $19 everything platter easily split by 2 people if you want to check out all the items. Every Fri. there is a blues band from 5-9 which is very good. Great friendly atmosphere--the cook even came out and danced with one of the patrons briefly. Highly recommend! kittykris
Reviews: 24
  2009-08-09
4 out of 5 stars If you enjoyed Souley Vegan before you'll love it again. Much nicer interior, bright, eye-pleasing, jazz/blues themed art, same menu items with some additions, same pricing structure. $10 plate w/ 3 itmes chosen from collards, mac and (no) cheese, BBQ tofu, potato salad, black eye peas, yams, cornbread, lentils. Desserts. Glad they're back, hopefully to stay, especially if New World is leaving. Vegan Living
Reviews: 94
  2009-07-24
4 out of 5 stars I had the BBQ tofu with collard greens and mac&cheese (all vegan). LOVED IT. The crispy tofu (made to look like catfish?), cornbread, potato salad, and vegan southern-style pies all looked really good, too. As of June 24, 2008, their new hours are Tues-Sat, 11 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. CLOSED on Sunday & Monday. calicokitten
Reviews: 34
  2008-06-24

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.