login

Please login using your forum user name to add or edit your reviews. This is different to your Yahoo! login. Don't have a forum user name? Then sign up now. It only takes a minute

Forum User name: Password:
Log me on automatically:



I forgot my password.

login
Last 5 Reviews

Average rating:4.35 out of 5 stars 4.35 / 5.0 Based on 13 reviews.

Rating Comments   Reviewer Date
3.5 out of 5 stars The people were really nice & the restaurant had a quaint little "cafe" atmosphere. Unfortunately the service was really slow. It took over 40 minutes to get our food. The food was just okay. We had the chicken teriyaki & sweet/sour chicken. Both were really salty, so much that you couldn't really taste the faux chicken. We may try it again, but for now we'll stick to Merit & Garden Fresh. carolroars
Reviews: 7
  2010-05-20
4.5 out of 5 stars I am not a big fan of faux meats or I would give Happy Bamboo a 5. The vegetable pho is my favorite- I could have it everyday and not grow tired of it. Delicious! lucindobunny
Reviews: 1
  2009-06-17
5 out of 5 stars A wide variety of interesting veg*n options, most of which are vegan or can be made that way. The friendly owner will help ensure you get vegan if you want that. I have had a Seaweed something salad and other items, all good. Definitely the best veg*n option for Los Gatos, Campbell, south San Jose. NOTE: Below items only recently non-vegan, due to supplier prices. goveg26 is WRONG about all along. greg
Reviews: 133
  2009-01-17
0 out of 5 stars WARNING: This place lied!! Owner told me that the drumsticks, burgers and tuna salads are not vegan. They have whey. It has been this way all along. If they were so careless that they didn't know this before, what else on their menu is not vegan, that they claim to be vegan. About half the people who were there last night, got the burgers and they didn't tell them about it...BE CAREFUL!!! goveg26
Reviews: 2
  2009-01-17
5 out of 5 stars I love this place!! Really friendly staff and a great selection of 99% vegan food makes it the perfect choice! Their faux chicken drumsticks are not to be missed and when they have it, their faux Tuna salad is better than the real thing, plus no guilt :)!! imlittlewolf
Reviews: 1
  2008-09-06
4 out of 5 stars Small little hole in the wall place with good food. Most things are vegan and they have a nice selection of shakes and other cold drinks including the bubble tea. The selection of food is pretty eclectic with several Vietnamese, Mexican, and western options. They also have a nice selection of deserts. legoandy
Reviews: 6
  2008-09-05
5 out of 5 stars This is my favorite restaurant. The owner is super nice & food is all vegan and cheap. They even gave my mom free cake on Mother's Day. They've just added burritos & taquitos to the menu. Veggie burger is yummy! This place is never busy--give it a try & keep them in business! kittykris
Reviews: 24
  2007-05-03
5 out of 5 stars Love Happy Bamboo...the veggie chicken drumsticks are incredible (and addictive). All of the food is very flavorful and reasonably priced. The owner is incredibly nice. My other favorite is the Garlic Veggie Chicken. Tofu with vegetables is also very good. They even have vegan cake (from Black China) for dessert. Dana
Reviews: 30
  2006-11-16
5 out of 5 stars They have a pretty varied menu of Thai/Vietnamese/American cuisine and also a goulash dish! I tried the lemon grass "chicken" dish and it was fabulous. The Happy Bamboo has become my favourite restaurant. I hope more bavegers find out about it. sagarwal
Reviews: 4
  2006-11-06
5 out of 5 stars Food is very tasty. Great use of spices. Very vegan-friendly-almost whole menu. Vegan desserts. It's usually empty/near empty when I go, which shocks me, given how good it is. The owner is very sweet. mel
Reviews: 18
  2006-01-06
4.5 out of 5 stars This all-vegetarian restaurant has too much fried food. Even the veggie fish claypot dish tasted "fatty". But it is tasty. They have sandwiches and boba (pearl) drinks, too. robertb
Reviews: 6
  2005-12-04
5 out of 5 stars They have the best fried rice! The prices are reasonable and well worth it. The service was very friendly. I highly recomend eating at Happy Bambo! vegchick
Reviews: 2
  2005-03-10
5 out of 5 stars Hot steamy Pho on a cold rainy day...mmmm! Tangy, all veggie menu (no eggs) 85S to Camden. Large Pho for $6.75 incl 3 fake meats is too much to finish. Worthy of a real review! bwolmarans
Reviews: 1
  2004-09-30

The intent of the Ultimate Guide is to make it easier for folks new to the Bay Area or new to vegetarianism to find businesses that support their vegetarian lifestyle. We welcome your reviews and feedback on businesses and services listed within. For any public reviews, please keep your comments constructive so that the business may learn from them -- no slander or mean-spirited comments.. You are responsible for what you post as a 3rd party contributor to the Ultimate Guide web site. Bay Area Vegetarians and the editors of the Ultimate Guide reserve the right to edit or delete submissions that are deemed inappropriate.